Full schedules & scores
Shadle Park quarterback Brett Rypien was named state offensive player of the year by the Seattle Times. (Colin Mulvany)

North Idaho athletes on all-state teams

A handful of North Idaho athletes were named to the All-Idaho teams.

Three seniors off Coeur d’Alene’s state championship team were named to the 5A first team. They are tight end Chase Blakley, lineman Matt James and linebacker Graham Thompson.

James was a two-way selection. James and Blakley both gave oral commitments to the University of Washington. With the recent coaching change, James said he plans to honor his commitment while Blakley is entertaining other opportunities but hasn’t decommitted.

CdA also had five players selected to the second team. They are Gunnar Amos, Addison Johnson, Devin Ward, Austin Chadderdon and Jackson Carlson. Lake City’s Jerry Louie-McGee and Gavan Rosteck also were tabbed to the second team.

In 4A, Lakeland junior placekicker Cade Coffey was named to the first team. Coffey kicked a 57-yard field goal in Lakeland’s state playoff opener. He connected on 23 of 25 point-after kicks and 7 of 8 field goals.

In 3A, four Timberlake players were picked to the second team. They are Bryce Johnson, Brian Mason, Mason Cramer and Preston Rhodes.

• Shadle Park junior quarterback Brett Rypien was named the offensive player of the year in the Seattle Times’ All-State teams.

Rypien passed for a state record 613 yards in a win against Mt. Spokane and finished with 4,230 yards overall and 57 touchdowns.

Two other Greater Spokane League players were named to the Times’ first team. They are Ferris senior defensive back Cole Karstetter and University senior wide receiver Trevor Martin.

• Rypien and Karstetter were also named to the Tacoma News Tribune’s All-State team.

Joining them on the team were Shadle Park senior tight end Nick Kiourkas.

• The USA Today also named All-State teams in Washington and Idaho.

In Washington, Rypien and Karstetter were named to the team along with Central Valley senior offensive lineman J.D. Boden, Shadle senior receiver Tanner Pauly and Mead junior linebacker A.J. Layton.

Rypien was named the offensive most valuable player.

In Idaho, six area players were named to the team.

They are Amos, Blakley, James, Rosteck, Carlson and Coffey.

Amos was named the offensive MVP.